Waterberg Bushveld Game Farm Accommodation
  • Guest Reviews for Izintaba Lodge
  • Guest Reviews for Izintaba Lodge
  • Guest Reviews for Izintaba Lodge

Guest Reviews for Izintaba Lodge

December 2019
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful lodge and game park. The bush is so refreshing for the soul. The tranquillity most delightful. The animals we saw all looked healthy. The Bushbuck Cottage was very cleverly designed and well maintained. Everything ran smoothly thanks to the efficient management of Nikki and Andrew. Your staff were unobtrusive and kept the place clean and tidy. We thank you for a wonderful few days and wish you well.
James, Angela and Annette, Polokwane and Pietermaritzburg, Bushbuck Cottage

December 2019
We loved this little cottage, tucked away amongst the rocks and trees. Only the sounds of the bush broke the complete tranquillity of this gem. Beautifully decorated and equipped for the romantic getaway we needed. At night we turned off the lights to admire the heavens – what a spectacular sight. Being visited by the resident porcupine rustling past us was an extra treat. Andrew was very well informed and could answer any questions we put to him. Thank you so much Andrew and Nikki for making our tenth wedding anniversary a memorable one,
Cally Eckard, Duiker Cottage

December 2019
We all had a wonderful, relaxing time exploring, playing and watching the animals. Highlights included dung beetles (the children made a dung beetle zoo!), giraffe and the amazing paradise fly catchers. An amazing place to stay with fascinating ecology,
Ana, Richard, Jasmine and Beatrice Malhado, Brazil, Zebra Cottage

December 2019
We’ve had such a fun time at Izintaba Lodge. We went on many walks and drives through the bush. We loved the pool and the boma and had such fun roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. Overall this was a great experience! Thank you!
The Soule, Sole and Sinclair Family SA & Australia, Izintaba Lodge

December 2019
We had an absolutely fantastic time at Izintaba with some brilliant walks, drives and sundowners. Some interesting sightings were two separate pythons – one at the fence line above the end of the waterfall trail and one on the riverine gulley up from the dam. We also spotted a jackal in the same area as the second rock python. We also spotted two birds not on the Roberts list in the cottage viz. Three Red Billed Teals in the pond by the bridge and a Swallow Tailed Bee Eater in the same area. The variety of insects is just amazing. All in all we had a great time and will definitely return in the near future. Kind regards,
Pim, Bernie, Ian and Karen, Bushbuck Cottage

December 2019
I love this place and am definitely coming back. We stayed at Kudu Lodge and the place is beautiful, clean, well provided for in terms of cutlery and crockery. Nikki and her family are very friendly and helpful. I can’t wait to show my friends this establishment, we had a perfect weekend away,
Zingisa Phalane, Kudu Cottage.

December 2019
We had a lovely stay in Bushbuck Cottage. All the required amenities were available to ensure we have a lovely, peaceful weekend. The animals are in great condition and it was stunning to get so close to them. Thanks for a quiet, nature filled weekend.
Bushbuck Cottage.

December 2019
Dear Nikki & Andrew, I had a wonderful stay. Izintaba is a peaceful place, I could hear the birds. It was a much needed break away from the city. The game drive was so breath-taking, thanks to Uncle Joe. It was amazing. Last word: The place is WOW!! I am definitely coming back again,
Millicent Mokolo, Lephalale & Polokwane, Duiker Cottage

December 2019
Dear Andrew and Nikki, What a wonderful place to spend the weekend of our 46th wedding anniversary. Thank you Andrew for the very informative game drive and Nikki for the wonderful meal. Seeing the porcupine running in front of the car was magic!! We will be back again. PS our dog loved it!

Robert & Melinda, Giraffe Cottage.

November 2019
A fly in visit from down under. What an exquisite place to feed the soul. The smells, the sights, the service, the sunsets…. Possibly one of the finds of my century. A hidden gem. I’ll be back. THANK YOU, I feel very blessed,
Kudu Cottage. November 2019
Great to be back at Izintaba after 11 years! We had a super relaxing time, lovely run/ walk and best spotting was 3 x Jackal pups – very special to see. Got a visit from 2 giraffe whilst swimming in the splash pool. A lovely cottage, with great boma, lapa and pool area. Spotted some lovely birds and insects. Girls loved the weekend as did us
Gouldings – JHB, Kudu Cottage.

November 2019
Dearest Nikki and Andrew, The pages in the chalet guestbook are so full so I am sending an email instead. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a lovely stay at your guest farm. We arrived in desperate need of rest and that’s exactly what we achieved. The chalet is super comfortable and had all that we needed, including a resident gecko who would slam against the window for supper giving our Caramel such a fright  The huge bed is amazingly comfortable!! But the best birthday gift were the 5 giraffe we got to see and talk to at 5 a.m. on Saturday morning right outside the pool. They are my best animal in the world and I am crazy about them!! Need I say more how I inwardly freaked out!!! We drove around the farm, literally all around, and were so blessed to see the good condition the animals are in. We prayed for rain for you and hope that it picks up in the weeks to come. We loved the two ladies who cleaned our chalet and of course dear old Joe  who swept and cleaned the pool. Beautiful people and please tell them we said so! We will be back with friends in the future and wish you many bookings. Thank you for the gift of the Friday night. We couldn’t come earlier because of Martin’s work commitment and were not planning on staying the Friday night, but when we realised how tired we were and that Saturday I was released from work commitments, we grabbed it. Thank you!! Generosity is hard to come by. May the Lord bless you and keep you. With gratefulness and love
ANGIE AND MARTIN PAPE, Kudu Cottage

October 2019
We loved the stay, it is a wonderful, quiet place with amazing nature! The cottage is a very beautiful hideaway from the city. We loved the baby squirrel. Thank you for everything,
Ronell, Danie, Magdeli and Adey, Duiker Cottage.

October & November 2019
WOW, is what we both said when we arrived and we have been impressed ever since. To be able to walk freely and enjoy the bush was the highlight for us. A place we will definitely remember and return to.
Colin and Lesley Scott (UK)

September 2019
Dear Nikki, Andrew & Staff. We had a great time AGAIN, we will be back soon to “recharge” our batteries,
Gustav & Chantel’ , Duiker Cottage

September 2019
Our third time at Izintaba, we had a great time here at the Kudu house, so nice and peaceful. Please DO NOT get Wifi or a TV!!. We loved it here, this is the place where we have seen lots of animals. Thank you.
Anais, Isabella, David, Stephanie, Eleonor, Joe, Bella + Baguette, JHB’ Kudu Cottage.

September 2019
What a wonderful place. From the friendly reception we received throughout to the cleaning staff, I give all 100%. The cottage as well, nothing more that you need. All that is left to say…IT WAS AMAZING!
Yolande, Chrishandie, Johan & Chris, Bushbuck Cottage.

August 2019
Went on great walks, hikes, bushveld. Peace & quiet, stunning night sky. Best of all NO TV or news. Bliss to be out of that for a few days’
Giraffe cottage.

August 2019
What an amazing place! So peaceful and tranquil. Thank you so much for a much needed getaway.
Steads & Davies, Izintaba Lodge.

July 2019
We loved our stay, Thanks for an amazing place, far enough away from the city to feel like a good holiday, private, well-kept and clean,
Megan, Duiker Cottage.

July 2019
A very nice place! Quiet, comfortable and luxurious. Great value. The photos don’t do Duiker Cottage justice.’
Duiker Cottage.

July 2019
What an amazing long weekend we spent at Giraffe Cottage – thank you so much. It was the perfect break from the hustle and bustle of Joburg and just what we needed as a family.
Jozanne Oosthuizen, Giraffe Cottage.

June 2019
Dear Nikki and Andrew, thank you for sharing this amazing place! We had a fantastic time, loved the jackal calls and the stars. We look forward to coming back, All the best,
Matthew, Megan, Annelien, Duiker Cottage.

June 2019
Dearest Andrew, Nikki and Staff. WOW, what an experience. Thank you for sharing a piece of your wonderful world with us. It was a great privilege to experience a bit of god’s creation during our two day stay in Duiker. I do hope and pray that we do get another opportunity to come back. Thanking you all, stay safe, Kind Regards,
Ben & Gerda, Rustenburg, Duiker Cottage.

May 2019
Our 2nd time, and not the last…
Kudu Cottage.

April 2019
A wonderful piece of heaven on earth – peace and quiet- pity we couldn’t stay longer, but will definitely be back. Awesome place, thanks Nikki and Andrew for looking after us.
Andries & Yvonne, JHB, Giraffe Cottage.

April 2019
Thank you Nikki, a really refreshing, wonderful place, relax and have peace of mind. A better home, far from home. Surely we will come again, hopefully with friends. Again thanks
Nikki, Mpho and Ali, Bushbuck Cottage.



Awards



March & December 2019
We love Izintaba! Another wonderful weekend of great walks, game viewing and quiet. We loved the Kudu visitors and we also saw two (orphaned?) warthog babies right at the cottage. Magic to experience a bushveld thunderstorm too. Thanks again for sharing this special place with us,
Willem and Karien, Zebra Cottage.

March 2019
Thank you for everything, loved our stay. No cell reception, no one to bug you. Everything we needed in the cottage. Trail walk was amazing. Thanks Again,
Leon and Engela, Bushbuck Cottage.

March 2019
Dear Nikki, Andrew and Staff. I honestly don’t know what to say apart from this is our 6th visit to Izintaba. I would like to believe that that says it all. Thanks again for a wonderful 4 days away from the concrete jungle, we will back, hopefully very soon!
Gustav & Chantell, Duiker Cottage

March 2019
What a beautiful place you have. We enjoyed every moment, the nature, the peace, lovely scenery, friendly staff at the amazing Duiker Cottage. We saw some wonderful game and were greeted by some of your giraffe yesterday. Thank you for making our anniversary a special one. So impressed with your place that one of my colleagues will be visiting later this month. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will visit again,
Gizelle & Stefan, Duiker Cottage.

March 2019
This is the 4th time we have visited Izintaba. Kudu Cottage is our favourite. The total peace and quiet that this place offers is SO restorative. Please DO NOT get WiFi!! To break away totally and relax without all the “NOISE” that modern life has is beyond a named price. Thank You.
Tony and Dee Riley , Kudu Cottage.

February 2019
We had a wonderful stay. The accommodation is first class with everything on could need or want. Such a pretty, quaint chalet and such friendly hosts. We booked meals and they were really tasty and perfectly prepared. We will definitely be visiting again,
Liesl Kyle.

December 2018
Dear Andrew and Nikki Back in Johannesburg. Oh how we missed Izintaba... Thank you for the best Bushveld experience ever.
We loved the well-equipped and stylish thatch roof - Duiker – simply the best. Away from other people. Just us, the two dogs, veld, birds, animals and tranquillity. Clean, white and quality linen and mattresses ... so heavenly.
Gustav enjoyed the cycling trials and of course the wild dogs! (So glad you saw them too). The walking trial will always be remembered. Dogs cooled down in the dam and us in the beautiful, clean swimming pool. (With all the lizards and their bright tails). Sunset rock and deck was a hit and the roads are well maintained. Johanna and Joe are friendly workers.
Thank you for everything. We could feel your love for the environment and the animals and to be the best hosts.
Kind regards.
We will come back and spread the word.
Thinus, Mariana, Gustav and Marit Fourie.

December 2018
‘Hi there Nikki, thanks for your hospitality. Lovely quiet getaway with no TV and very little cell reception. We enjoyed the quiet and saw lots…even a porcupine in our garden! Lovely accommodation and easy to see game even when walking. Great if you enjoy bicycling. Pool is very welcome on hot afternoons. Roads are not bad at all, even with a city vehicle’
Raymond

December 2018
Thanks for an amazing weekend! We absolutely loved it and will be back for sure. Thanks again for a wonderful time and for allowing our pups - they loved it too!
Regards Roz

November 2018
Beste bosveldervaring ooit! Goed toegeruste en stylvolle grasdak-chalet (Duiker) met geen ander mens in sig nie: net veld, voëls en diere. 'n Lafenis vir die siel! Geen TV, winkels en Malls naby. Selfone is weggepak en slegs gebruik om foto's te neem. Ons verkies dit so. Wees goed voorberei met nodige proviand. Ons twee honde het afgekoel in die dam. Swembad lieflik en skoon. Sunset Rock is 'n móét vir sonsopkomste en -ondergange. Stap- en fietsry-roetes duidelik gemerk. Was nie nodig om fietsryroetes elders te loop soek nie. Paaie is ook goed onderhou. Andrew en Nikki is twee uitsonderlike, gasvrye eienaars wat self lief vir die veld is. Ons familie sal beslis weer Izintaba besoek en in Duiker tuisgaan. Baie dankie.

October 2018
I hereby thank you on behalf of all 10 of us for the absolutely wonderfully relaxing week that we all had at Izintaba Lodge. We all relaxed, even the hectic young men, and simply chilled out. A special thanks for the use of your boma and dining area. That really ‘made’ our dinner times and to have a boma fire going.
The kids also had an absolute ball and barely touched their ipads and minimal time was spent at the TV. It was the most special experience being with nature in the bush yet having the home comforts and swimming pool. We enjoyed our game drives and the walks.
Thanks too for your efforts for our spit lamb dinner as well as our anniversary champagne breakfast with all the frills in the middle of the bush.
Kind Regards
Frans van Neerijnen and clan.

September 2018
Nikki and Andrew, It’s a pity we only sayed for 2 nights, but it was worth it. We came here empty handed, but you came through for us. For sure we will return and for more than a week. What a good place to escape from the world and cities. Keep up the good work you do,
Gilroy and Sharon.

September 2018
Superb weekend away! This place is beautiful – different scenery. The chance to walk and cycle, to appreciate – allows one to get close to nature. Good birding. Accommodation lovely. Best of all – QUIET – so peaceful. Special moments: Scorpion, Baboon, palted lizard ( large), flowering tree species, nearly being hit by an eland on my bike, geckos, agamas, snake spoor. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back,
Marianna, John, Chad, Reg

October 2018
To Nikki, Andrew and Boys. What a delightful and adventurous week we had at Izintaba Lodge celebrating my dads 70th Birthday and my parents 45th Wedding anniversary!! We enjoyed the peaceful African environment, “Home” and facilities of Izintaba. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for the lovely Boma dinner under the stars with the magical bonfire, and the 5 star breakfast that Nikki so gracefully whipped up and served in style. We enjoyed the ‘family at home’ vibe of your lodge, enjoyed your swimming pools daily and the lovely nature walks, sunsets and drives. It was a pleasure staying here, Thank You!

July 2018
What a stunning, serene palce this is  We enjoyed some lovely walks around the area allowing us time to relax and chat. Just a shame our friends are not here to enjoy this trip with us. PS the food, bith dinner and breakfast was lovely.
UK

August 2018
Nikki’s place offers a great weekend getaway to get some peace from the city. Being able to walk in the private game reserve and take yourself on game drives is truly special. There’s an abundance of animals to see. The place is spacious and well equipped. Perfect for a family of 4.

August 2018
Your farm is a beautiful place to stay. We enjoyed the silence, freedom and of course the nature we could see during hiking and game driving. We saw many animals, topped by a new born Eland.
Tristan, Birgit, Karl, Germany

February 2018
Just a thank you for a wonderful stay once again in Duiker cottage! We had a lovely time and came back home with batteries charged. You are soooo lucky to be able to work and live in such a beautiful place. Thank you that we can share this at times! We will be back for more!!
Kind regards.
Roland, Ria and Ching Ching.